Monday Memo #20 2/1/16 Reposted

Monday Memo–Edition #20

February 1, 2016

Follow Me on Twitter:https://twitter.com/cmkelleyteach

Follow my Blog:  https://teamwhs.wordpress.com/

Dear WHS Community,

I hope that everyone had a great weekend and are enjoying this (so far) light snowfall and warm winter ~ may it continue!  

We are getting excited as our newly renovated Auditorium is almost complete and our Drama Club has been practicing on stage for the last few weeks.  If you haven’t already reserved the weekend, please plan to come to one of our performances of Damn Yankees on March 3-5.  Check out the information on:  https://goo.gl/YhN5kq.  This will be our first performance and I’ve seen snippets of the show and it is NOT TO BE MISSED.  However, we will also be hosting a Community Open House on March 21st from 5:45 until a wonderful Music Concert at 7:00 pm in the new auditorium.   All are welcomed!

This week’s schedule will be:

Monday-2/1

Day 2

Tuesday-2/2

Day 3

Weds.-2/3

Day 4

Thurs.-2/4

Early Release

Day 5

Fri.-2/5

Day 6

 

Monday Updates:

  1. If you are signing up students for sports, you need to sign up through FamilyID.  It can be found at:  https://www.familyid.com/login

Staff Spotlight:

Meet the Science Department:

Director-Michael Marchand

I was born and raised in Fall River, MA, and earned a BS in Marine Science from Long Island University. While at LIU, I began teaching at a marine science enrichment program during summers and this lead me to think about teaching as a career. Coming back to MA, I began a master’s program in marine science, but then transitioned into a teaching program and began teaching at Fairhaven (MA) High School in 1997. I came to Winchester in the fall of 2001, became Director in 2006, and have never had a job I enjoy so much. Currently, I teach AP Environmental Science and Marine Science. Outside of my passions for teaching and science, I love to travel, I play guitar,  and I am married to Karen, a genetic counselor from Maine; together we have two children,  Amelie (6), and Ryan (3).

Lis Angus

I have been teaching at WHS since 1992.  It has been interesting to see how much has changed since then.  I grew up in Wellesley, MA always wanting to be a teacher.  My best educational experience was high school even though I have degrees from Harvard Extension School and Harvard Graduate School of Education.  It has been a privilege to teach at Winchester High School for 24 years.  Most students say thank you at the end of class.  What a great way to make a living!

 

David Benedetto

David Benedetto has been teaching chemistry and physics at WHS since 2004.  Prior to this, he taught for three years at Newton North High School.  Mr. Benedetto grew up in Northborough, Mass.  He earned a bachelor’s degree in chemistry from the College of the Holy Cross, an M.S. in chemistry from Northwestern, and an M.Ed. from UMass Boston.  He is the advisor to the Chemistry Olympiad team and has participated on the WHS Faculty team for the WFEE Trivia Bee for several years.  He is an avid reader and loves to cheer on the Boston sports teams, and as an adult he began studying taekwondo, and currently holds a second-degree black belt.  He is also an active musician and plays piano and French horn in local groups, including the pit orchestras for six WHS musical productions.

 

Scott Carlson

I grew up and went to high school in Warren, PA.  From there, I got my bachelor’s degree in physics from Wittenberg University(in Ohio) in 1985 where I also minored in mathematics and voice (music).  I got my M.Ed. from U Mass Amherst in 1987.

I have been teaching high school physics since the fall of 1987. I taught at Gloucester High School for nineteen years, and I have been teaching physics at Winchester High School since the fall of 2007.  I also teach physics in the evenings at Northeastern University, and have been teaching there since the winter of 2000.

Of course, science is important in my life and this extends to an interest in science fiction, both books and movies.  I also love music, especially classical and classic rock. I continue to sing in my church choir, and play some guitar when I have time. Electronics and acoustics are my specialties/real interests within science, and I have been known to throw away a few extra bucks on a nifty gadget here or there.

Some other trivia about myself…After finishing my bachelors degree in physics I lived in Germany for a year, and I maintain a great love for travel and foreign languages and cultures.

Whenever I have time, I like to participate in outdoor activities including hiking and camping, cycling, and cross-country skiing.  I have coached the Nordic Ski Team at Winchester High since its beginning in 2009-2010.

I am married (wife, Cheryl) and have two children (Andy, 9th grade; Anna, 5th grade) and we live in Natick in what was once my wife’s grandmother’s house.

Ipshita Chakladar

I was inspired to become a teacher by my fifth grade Math teacher Ms.Gomes and my 7th grade Biology teacher Sister Doris. Two days into 7th grade biology and I had made my life decision to become a science teacher like Sister Doris.  She was fun loving, knew us all by our names and had very high expectations of all us. She challenged us and was right by our side if we needed help.

To fulfill my dream I obtained an M.Sc in Zoology and a B.Ed from Loyola College.  I taught at various schools for 10 years before emigrating to the United States from India with my husband and three daughters. Before joining Winchester High in 2006 I had worked at Melrose and Stoneham.

I also acquired an M.Ed from UMAss Boston along the way. Currently I am the advisor to NHS, Aberjona Chapter, the newly formed Science Olympiad team and Biology Olympiad and the SAT/PSAT Coordinator. My other interests  include classical Indian dance form – Kathak and I have 2 master’s degree in the dance form. I am passionate about gardening and cooking and my friends and colleagues can vouch for that. My students inspire me everyday.

 

Diane Duke

I grew up in Sudbury, MA and attended college at Brandeis University, where I earned BS degrees in chemistry and biochemistry, and a Master’s degree in chemistry.  This is my eighth year teaching chemistry at Winchester High School!  In addition to teaching, I also am a competitive roller figure skater (like ice dancing but on roller skates).

 

Alexandra Geyer

Dr. Alexandra Geyer is a Cognitive Neuroscientist whose research experience spans from investigating the nature of autoimmune responses at the MIT Center for Cancer Research to leading research and development work in the Neurognitive Training and Rehabilitation field. Currently, in addition to teaching science, Dr. Geyer also co-mentors the Technovation club at WHS. Dr. Geyer received a B.S. in Biology and a Ph.D. in Cognitive Neuroscience from Tufts University.

 

Paul Masi

The Science Department requires lab set ups and that’s my job.   I was on the last UMass football team that beat BC. I wrestled at UMass and our teams always beat Coach Tremblay’s teams at Springfield, well once or twice at least. I am involved in many outdoor activities.  I went over to Hampshire College and learned kayaking from Eric Evans. I got to climb with John Krakauer and Dave Roberts. I was not very good at any of these activities but I had fun!  Retired from teaching in Brookline I taught Science and some Math, P.E., Health, History and English. I taught Climbing and Kayaking for the military in Germany. I taught in Ecuador muchos anos pasado. I climbed to the furthest point from the center of the earth. Jacalyn Masi a teacher at Ambrose School, won’t admit it, but she is my wife.(If you are reading this-darling I love you).  My four sons went through Winchester High School. I am surprised the place is still standing. Hmmmm maybe that’s why we the renovations! I still coach Cross Country and Track at the High school. I run the outing club at WHS and am a scoutmaster in town. I work summers in rural Alaska in Native Villages and bring groups of scouts out west.  If you would like to do an outdoor activity or need equipment give me a call.

 

Robin Mozell

Dr. Robin Mozell is a career changer.  She received her Bachelor’s degree in Cellular and Molecular Biology from SUNY Buffalo and her PhD in Molecular Biology from the University of Pennsylvania.  She then spent 20 years studying early brain development and metabolic diseases in both academia (Children’s Hospital and Dana Farber) and Biotech (Biogen and Millenium Pharmaceuticals).  She has been a teacher in the Science Department at WHS for 10 years.  Personally, she and her husband, Richard, are getting used to the idea of being empty-nesters as her daughter, Sarah, finishes her senior year at Union College.  Though, with no impending employment prospects, Sarah may be moving back home for a while, which would suit Robin, Richard and Hershel (the family dog) just fine…for now.

 

Kurt Pundit-Murphy

I was born in Washington D.C. but convinced my parents to move to Florida when I was 6 months old.  I grew up in Orlando and graduated from the University of Central Florida in 1995.  I began teaching in Hawaii in 2002 and earned a Masters in Education of Physics in 2005.  I enjoy  many outdoor activities and am thankful that I can use those experiences to help students understand the physics in a classroom and connect an understanding of  physics to their everyday lives.  I have a daughter named Kailana that will be going to high school in a little over a year.

 

Tracy Regan

Although I moved to western NY for middle and high school, I lived in New England before that time so came right back to Boston after graduating from St. Lawrence University and earning my B.S. in Biology.  The Buffalo wings were pretty good and I was lucky enough to have a horse there but the skiing could not compare, and Lake Chautauqua was certainly no Nantucket Sound (just ask Scott Carlson!).   Once here, after working in Harvard University’s Sponsored Research, I quickly came to realize that I did not want to work in a “cubicle” but did enjoy the academic environment and missed biology.  I then earned my ME.d. at Boston College and started my first teaching job at Lynnfield H.S.  Once my daughter was born, I took some time off until she entered kindergarten and I was lucky enough to see a part time position available at Winchester High School.  (That was 13 years ago – yikes!)  Little did I know then, what an amazing place I had stumbled into.  I can honestly say that I wake up every single weekday excited to go to work.  I love what I do – my colleagues and my students inspire me everyday.  I am lucky.   True to my passions, I have spent many winters with my family skiing up at Burke Mt. in Vermont and summers in Cotuit, Cape Cod. At home, my husband Pat, our new pup Cooper and our daughter, Ali (17) are gearing up to start the college process.  Wish us luck!

 

Jodi Timmins

I was born and raised in Norfolk, MA and earned a B.A. in Biology from St. Anselm College in Manchester, NH in 1998.  After graduation I worked as a community educator for the American Lung Association of Greater Norfolk County and it was there that I caught the “teaching bug.”  I returned to school to earn a Master’s degree in Science Education from Boston University.  I have been at Winchester High School teaching Biology and Anatomy & Physiology for 15 years.  I am married to Patrick, a police officer, and we have two fun and energetic little boys, Aidan (4) and Matthew (2).

Michelle White

I was born in Philadelphia, PA, but spent the majority of my younger years in Colorado (explains why I am a Broncos fan!) before returning to the east coast for high school (Claymont High School, Claymont, DE) and college (Boston University).  I attended BU for both my undergraduate and graduate degrees. While at Boston University, I played both field hockey and softball and was very fortunate to be elected to the the Boston University Hall of Fame in 2010.  After college, I spent a few years coaching at Boston University, Simmons College, and Babson College before I was hired as a teacher at Winchester High School. This is my 16th year (wow!) teaching at Winchester High School. In addition to teaching at WHS, I just finished my 11th season as the field hockey coach.  I am very passionate about both my teaching and coaching roles and am glad that I get to share my passions with my coworkers, some of the most innovative, talented, fun, people in the world and the students of Winchester, some of the best and brightest students I will ever have the opportunity to teach and/or coach.  I am married to Jill and we have two children, Timothy (“not 4 ½ anymore”) and Riley (2).

 

Gina Zhou

My real first name is Xiaojie, but it was too difficult to pronounce for most people, so I go by Gina.  I received my BS in Chemistry in Nankai University (Tianjin, China). I earned my MS in Organic Chemistry and MA in Teaching Chemistry in State University of New York at Stony Brook.  I also have some background in cosmetic chemistry and food chemistry. Teaching in WHS is my first job, and I am planning to stay here forever 🙂 because my students and colleagues are so awesome! Currently I am teaching Honors Chemistry and Principles of Chemistry. I love to travel, read, and watch a good movie. I also like running, yoga and cycling.  My husband is also a chemist, and he knows more chemistry than me. But he does not know that, so let’s keep this between us.

 

Date Event Location
Monday, Feb. 1 Day of Dialogue Freshmen Presentations
Monday, Feb. 1 6:00 pm Boys Hockey vs. Hingham Pilgrim Arena
Monday, Feb. 1 6:00 pm Boys/Girls Track vs. Arlington Reggie Lewis Ctr.
Monday, Feb. 1 7:30 WHSPFA meeting Dining Commons
Tuesday, Feb. 2 5:00 pm Girls Bball vs. Lexington Home-Stoneham
Tuesday, Feb. 2 7:00 pm Boys Bball vs. Lexington Home-Stoneham
Tuesday, Feb. 2 6:00 pm Girls Hockey vs. Lexington Home-Obrien
Tuesday, Feb. 2 7:30 pm Gymnastics vs. Melrose Ymca-Metro North
February 3 Report Cards Emailed
Wednesday, Feb. 3 3:30 pm Nordic Ski Team Weston Track
Wednesday, Feb. 3 4:00 pm Boys Hockey vs Lexington Home-OBrien
Wednesday, Feb. 3 6:00 pm Wrestling vs. Arlington Arlington Pit
Wednesday, Feb. 3 6:30 pm WFEE Trivia Bee Lynch School
February 4 Early Release Pro. Day
Thursday, Feb. 4 3:30 pm Alpine Slalom Race Nashoba Ski
Friday, Feb. 5 5:00 pm Girls Bbaall vs. Reading RMHS
Friday, Feb. 5 7:00 pm Boys Bbaall vs. Reading RMHS
Friday, Feb. 5 8:00 pm Middlesex League Meet Shriner’s Auditorium, Wilmington
Saturday, Feb. 6 6:00 pm Boys Hockey vs. Reading Burbank-Reading
Saturday, Feb. 6 7:45 pm Girls Hockey vs. Reading Burbank-Reading

 

Leave a Reply

