Monday Memo #11-November 23, 2015

Monday Memo–Edition #11

November 23,  2015

Follow Me on Twitter:https://twitter.com/cmkelleyteach

Follow my Blog:  https://teamwhs.wordpress.com/

 As we begin this holiday week here at WHS, this time of year, we find ourselves looking at our lives and realizing all that we have to be truly thankful.  I am thankful that I have a wonderful family and close friends.  I also have a great role in a community that has meant so much to me over the last 20+ years.  I can hardly believe that next week will mark my 3 month mark here at WHS.  It has certainly been an adjustment in so many ways, but each day it definitely feels like the “new normal.”  I find myself feeling so thankful for the many wonderful things that I see here at WHS.

In my other roles, I have periodically called out top reasons why I am thankful to be part of other great communities.

I would now like to offer my top reasons that I am thankful to be a part of TEAM WHS-

  • I’m thankful for our building.  Well, maybe just the NEW sections.  I just love our Dining Commons, our Learning Commons, our Music rooms, and other classrooms.  They are well designed, functional and just so beautiful!  Every time that I walk down the staircase in the Dining Commons, I have to stop myself from breaking out in song!
  • I’m thankful for our leadership team.  This is my first experience working with so many other administrators and I have found their expertise, their support and their care for all things WHS to be so wonderful!  They are a hardworking and diverse crew and I find myself looking to them for their guidance and advice on a daily basis.
  • I’m thankful for our staff.  We have so many talented and hardworking staff here at WHS!  They know their content and they truly care about our students.  It is a winning combination!  I am enjoying getting to know them more (and spending more time with all of them in the months ahead)!
  • I’m thankful for our students.  In my three month tenure here at WHS, I have gotten to know so many students here at WHS and they are really extraordinary.  I find our students to be funny, smart and kind.  I so enjoy hearing their stories and hearing about their accomplishments! I look forward to getting to know more of our thoughtful teens.

I would like to take this opportunity to wish all of you a very Happy Thanksgiving!  I hope that you have time to celebrate and enjoy some family time together.

Here are the Monday updates.

  1. Once again this year, WHS will be participating in WHS Gives Back.  Last year, we were able to raise funds to help local families with gifts this holiday season.  We are already looking to collect money in homerooms from now until early December.  Thank you in advance for your donations.

  1. Report cards will be coming out this week.  As mentioned last week, if your child is struggling, please have him/her reach out to their guidance counselor or their teacher to find out just what they can do to be successful.

  2. This week is SPIRIT week at WHS.  We are having Mix It Up Monday, Sport shirt Tuesday and wear your colors (Freshmen-white, Sophomores-green, Juniors-red and Seniors-black).  Our Pep Rally will be on the front steps of WHS starting at 10:15 on Weds.  (Be advised that the driveway in front of WHS will be closed for dismissal on Weds.)

This upcoming week’s Day Schedule will be:

Monday-11/23

Day 1

Tuesday-11/24

Day 2

Weds.-11/25

Day 3

No School

No School

Memo Shout-Outs- We have so much to be proud of here at WHS.  I have asked staff to send me regular shout out announcements so we can recognize some of our great happenings for our WHS community. (If you have a shout out to share-please email me at ckelley@winchesterps.org)

  • Several Saturdays ago (November 14), 12 WHS students took part in the full-day HMMT Math Competition hosted by Harvard and MIT students. Great effort by Kendall Zhu, Ethan Wong, Jerry Wang, John Na, Andrew Sun, Akshitha Ramachandran, Brandon Zhang, David Mao, Rebecca Hao, Roy Xing, Hubert Yuan, Jefferson Kim.  According to advisor, Bryant Lucus, it was great to see nearly 1000 students so excited about math. What a GREAT experience!

  • Congratulations to Freshman, Ella Hodges, who recently went to High Performance Camp in CT.  Ella is a Level 1 gymnast who puts in about 26 hours a week beyond her work at WHS!  Good luck, Ella!  We are rooting for you!

  • Congratulations to the Curtain and Cue Club and their fabulous performance of Suite Surrender last week!  It was so funny and well acted.  I really enjoyed the show!  I hope you could make it.  But if you couldn’t make it, we will have videos available.  Email Tech adviser, Craig Mackenzie, if you wish to purchase one:  Craig Mackenzie-cmackenzie@winchesterps.org

  • Thank you to the staff and students who presented at last week’s Technology Night.  I heard that folks really enjoyed hearing from them about how we use technology in our school.

  • Thank you to the Winchester Rotary Club who invited our Football Captains, coaches, AD and Administration to their annual Thanksgiving Day luncheon.  Also a HUGE shout out to our marching band who did a fantastic job with entertainment!

 

Wednesday 11/25

Thursday 11/26-27

Early Release Day 11:15

(following Pep Rally)

Thanksgiving Holiday

No School

Thursday 11/26 10:00 am

Thanksgiving GAME

Football vs. Woburn

Cheerleading, Band

Home-Knowlton

Thursday 12/3

Freshmen Class Dinner

6:00 pm

Dining Commons

Thursday 12/3

Coalition Presents-”If Only” Film

Lincoln School 7:00 pm

December 3-6

Alpine Ski Team Tree Sale

WHS (to the left of school)

 

 

Leave a Reply

